Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

What To Do if You Are Accused of a Hit-And-Run


According to New York Law, after an accident happens, drivers are required to stop at the accident scene and exchange information. Also, drivers must contact the police if an accident involves injuries or death. If a driver leaves the scene of a car accident without exchanging appropriate information with the other party or parties or calling the police, they could face criminal charges. In New York, leaving the scene of an accident without reporting and exchanging appropriate information is referred to as a hit-and-run. Even if the accident is not your fault, you could face legal charges if you fail to stop at the scene. Depending on the severity of the accident, a person charged with hit-and-run could face a simple traffic violation, misdemeanor, or felony. Penalties for a hit-and-run conviction in New York range from $250 in fines and 15 days in jail to a fine of up to $5,000 and up to seven years in prison.

If you have been charged with a hit-and-run, you may be feeling scared and overwhelmed. You may be uncertain about the steps you should take. Whether or not you fled the scene of an accident, it is vital that you take the allegations seriously. The following are some of the steps to take if you are facing a hit-and-run charge, regardless of whether you actually fled an accident scene or not;

  1. Remain Calm

If you are facing accusations of fleeing from the scene of an accident, it is understandable if you are feeling panicked or anxious. However, it is crucial that you remain calm. Avoid panicking, as panic might cloud your judgment and worsen the situation. When calm, you can assess the situation more clearly and make informed decisions. You can avoid acting impulsively and escalating the situation.

  1. Understand the Charges You Are Facing

In New York, a hit-and-run offense can be classified as a traffic violation, misdemeanor, or felony. Make sure you understand the exact charges you are facing. When you know the exact charges you are facing, you can comprehend the potential penalties and legal defenses. Without a proper understanding of the charges against you, you may underestimate the severity of the charges or unintentionally overlook critical aspects of your defense strategy.

  1. Seek Legal Help

Hiring a criminal defense attorney is one of the most crucial things to do if you are accused of a hit-and-run. Contact a skilled attorney immediately if you are involved in a hit-and-run accident. A car accident lawyer can advise you on your legal rights, help you understand the charges against you, help you prepare a strong defense strategy, and guide you through the legal process. A skilled attorney can help you resolve your case before it gets to court. If your case goes to court, a qualified defense attorney can represent you.

  1. Cooperate With Law Enforcement

If law enforcement officers approach you, cooperate with them. Provide only factual information, but don’t admit fault or make incriminating statements. If unsure about a question, you can politely decline to answer and ask that you be allowed to speak to your attorney. Remember, you have the right to remain silent and seek legal representation.

  1. Collect Evidence

With the help of your attorney, collect any evidence that may help with your defense. This could include witness statements, pictures of the accident scene, and surveillance footage.

Contact an NYC Criminal Defense Attorney

Are you facing a hit-and-run charge in New York? Contact Mark I. Cohen, our skilled NYC criminal attorney, to discuss your case.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation
Translate »