Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

What Is A Class E Felony In New York?


If you’re wondering what a Class E felony is in New York because you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with this type of offense, it is crucial that you retain the services of a skilled criminal defense attorney. Being charged with a Class E felony is not something to take lightly.

So, what is a Class E Felony in New York? Simply put, this is the least severe felony charge you can receive under New York state penal law. However, a Class E felony can still carry serious repercussions. Being convicted of a Class E felony can have a major, lasting impact on a person’s life. Below, we discuss more on Class E felonies in New York.

Categorization of Crimes in New York

In the state of New York, crimes are divided into two major groups; misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are divided into three classes. These are Class A, Class B, and Unclassified misdemeanors. On the other hand, felonies are divided into five main categories. The New York State penal code describes a felony as a crime for which a sentence to a term of incarceration in excess of twelve months may be imposed. The five main categories of felonies are Class A felonies, Class B felonies, Class C felonies, Class D felonies, and Class E felonies. Class E felonies are considered less serious than Class A, B, C, and D felonies. Nonetheless, this does not mean that if you or a loved one is facing a Class E felony, you should take it lightly.

What Is a Class E Felony?

As already mentioned, Class E felonies are considered the least serious of all felonies in New York. However, a Class E felony can carry harsh consequences. Even though a Class E felony is an offense that does not usually carry an automatic jail time in New York, it has a hefty probation period. A Class E non-violent felony conviction in New York can mean a sentence of between one and one-third and four years. On the other hand, a conviction of a Class E violent felony in New York can mean a sentence of between one and a half and four years.

Examples of Class E Felonies

The following are some examples of Class E felonies in the state of New York;

Class E Violent Felonies

  • Persistent sexual abuse
  • Aggravated sexual abuse in the fourth degree
  • Placing a bomb or dangerous substance in the second degree

Class E Non-violent Felonies

  • Attempt to commit a Class D felony
  • Conspiracy in the fourth degree
  • Luring a child
  • Promoting a suicide attempt
  • Conspiracy in the fourth degree
  • Menacing in the first degree
  • Female genital mutilation
  • Criminal facilitation in the third degree
  • Substitution of children
  • Criminal negligent homicide
  • Stalking in the second degree
  • Arson in the fourth degree
  • Computer trespass
  • Vehicular assault in the third degree

As you can note from these examples, most Class E felonies are non-violent.

Contact an NYC Criminal Defense Attorney

If you or a loved one is facing a Class E felony charge in New York City or anywhere in New York, contact the skilled and dedicated NYC criminal defense attorney, Mark I. Cohen, at 917-414-8585.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation
Translate »